Frequently Asked Questions

If you are looking for quick answers to the most important questions about Kytes, our FAQs are here to help.

Before you upload your first content nugget on Kytes, you need to create your identity on Kytes. Your brand and all your offerings need a ‘Home’ on Kytes. That home is called ‘Channel’.

This is a one-time activity. To set up a channel, add a new channel, give it a name and logo that represent your brand, choose your subscription plan, and identify who will do the administration of the content and users. Then you can upload content nuggets and start distributing them to users. Most of our clients only need one channel.

Kytes permits you to upload and view within its own interface the following formats: Documents (pdf, docx, pptx), Videos (mp4, mov, wmv, flv, avi, webm, mkv), Audio (mp3, aac, wma, wav, ogg) and Books (epub)

The best part about Kytes is that it allows all your content to be seen from one place. It also allows you to create a sequence of content nuggets that play one after another in the order you want. Thus, you can create a multi-format playlist. For instance, for a product launch, you can have a short video, followed by a ppt presentation, supplemented by a podcast by an industry reviewer, and topped with a colourful PDF brochure. In this way, your prospective customers get a strong sense of your offering, and you are sending the message in a richly engaging way

This is nothing to worry about. It just means that you assigned the content to him even before it was fully processed and converted by the system to be usable on Kytes. As soon as the processing finishes (it takes a few minutes for some files), he will be able to view your content. If it ever gets stuck at one of the previous stages and does not finish processing, do write to our support channel or send a chat message. We will remedy it for you.

Just hit Ctrl-Shift-R (or CMD-Shift-R for Mac users) when trying to open the content. This will reset the player and it should solve your problem. If it persists, do write to our support channel or send a chat message. We will remedy it for you.

Kytes permits the same client to have many different identities on the platform.

You may have a small niche group of patrons who are interested in your luxury products. Whereas, you may have a larger distribution list for mass dissemination of regular content. To optimize your costs and to improve control over their management, you may opt to have different brand identities within Kytes. You may have a different logo and name for the premium group, while having a different identity for the mass market. You will do this by creating different channels. You can associate different subscription plans with each of these channels.

No. Just to have differential distribution of content to target groups, you don’t need many channels. You can have different distribution lists within the same channel!

Generally, most of our customers only have one channel – their sole brand identity on Kytes – and they set up target audience groups as different distribution lists. One group will not see what the other group sees. They only see what is shared with them. You don’t need different channels just to keep content segregated across silos.

Different channels need to be set up ONLY if you need to have different brand identities or want to associate different payment plans and payment mechanisms across your various distribution use cases. For example, if an automotive brand has a different identity for its luxury segment from its mass-market segment, different channels will be needed to reflect those brand identities.

Kytes uses the most advanced, yet easy-on-the-user mechanisms to sign up / sign in. No more remembering passwords. No more resetting passwords endlessly. No more leaked passwords that compromise even other systems that you use (when one password is compromised, many others automatically are!). We use a mechanism called Verification Codes that are sent to your email. The email you use to sign up is your user ID in Kytes. When you log in, use the Verification Code sent to your email as your password to enter the system.

If you don’t log out, you will remain signed in; that way you won’t have to keep going back to your email to retrieve the code each time you log in.

Please wait 5 minutes before requesting a new Verification Code.

Check your spam / junk folders to see if your Verification Code is going there for some reason.

For first-time Kytes users, especially using corporate email accounts, ask your administrator to “whitelist kytes.app” domain to allow emails from Kytes to reach your mailbox.

This feature is on our roadmap. Kytes currently does not support interactive eBooks. However, we are constantly upgrading our product. So, do register your interest in this feature using our support channel (send a note on the chat box). This will help the product team prioritize “often asked” features better in their roadmap. Sharing a sample of your interactive eBook also helps us understand to what extent you want us to support interactivities.

This feature is on our roadmap. We are constantly upgrading our product. So, do register your interest in this feature using our support channel (send a note on the chat box). This will help the product team prioritize “often asked” features better in their roadmap. Sharing a snipped of your requirement also helps us understand to what extent you want us to support eCommerce. Registering with us will also help us keep you informed when the feature is released. Please use the “Suggest a Feature” link in the website to do so.

We are a constantly evolving ecosystem. Kytes is a live product that is constantly being improved. We are happy to listen to your feedback and would love to hear from you. Please use the “Suggest a Feature” link in the website (scroll to the bottom to find it) to have your vote be counted in our roadmap prioritization process. As soon as the feature is available, you will see it in the BETA system.

Kytes evolves everyday. We keep building features all the time. We call them improvements, but sometimes our customers don’t really want it to work that way. To let our customers try out our new features in a safe environment without disruption to your business, we make our features available in the Beta product first. You can try the feature out and decide how to integrate it into your business process workflow.

Things you do in the Beta are generally reusable and safe, but we aren’t able to guarantee that. So please take your chances a little carefully. You can always switch back to the current stable version at any time – but do tell us why you switched back and what you didn’t like! We would like to hear where we should improve too!

Still have a question?

If you still have some questions, you can always contact us and our team will revert shortly.